Dr. B I presume?

So only the day after the suspected mini-stroke, I got a lift to High-Wycombe hospital to attend the TIA clinic, the aim to work out what was happening to me and whether or not I was indeed on the build up to a stroke. It was a bank-holiday Monday and the hospital was strangely quite, it was almost as though we had the place to ourselves. I had an odd feeling - on the one hand I felt absolutely normal and on the other there was an inner fear that I could theoretically had a stroke at any moment and therefore my life was in danger. I was absolutely gutted that I might be looking at a stroke at only 42 - if I had knew what was coming next I would have been praying for one! Dr. B was an unassuming man who talked me through the MRI procedure and briefly discussed what the issue might be - I can’t explain exactly why but I liked him immediately. His initial thought was that the symptoms I described didn’t sound like a TIA and he was wondering if it might be migraine related. The nurse who walked me to the MRI machine told me that she had a similar experience to mine and hers had be something called a ‘focal migraine’, a one off. By the time I laid down in the machine I was starting to think that maybe everything would be fine and this would all end being a storm in a tea cup. The MRI took about 20 minutes - it was unusually relaxing. Maybe it’s years of listening to electronic music but the rhythm and sounds soothed me and I nodded off! The nurse woke me up and I walked back up to the clinic to see the doctor and get the results. When I walked into see Dr. B I could see my brain picture on this screen and I tried to make a quick joke; “I see you found a brain then, that’s a good sign!” but unfortunately he didn’t smile. Instead he said “I’m afraid that the scan results aren’t normal”. As soon as I saw the dark blob inside my brain I didn’t need to be a doctor to instinctively know immediately that it shouldn’t be there. Dr. B told that there is was a few things it might be - either some sort of bleed in my brain, or maybe something worse, something growing there. Unfortunately the scan facilities available on the bank-holiday weren’t the right type to get a definitive answer and I would have to come back in a couple of days where they would do further scans (using some contrast dies). Dr. B told me that he would discuss the scans from today with a colleague in Oxford and come back with some follow-up dates as soon as possible. I didn’t know it at this point but Dr. B’s association with Oxford would end up being a connection that without could have taken things in a ever different direction - in some ways the fact I ended up meeting Dr. B at that specific TIA clinic on that specific day was an incredible piece of good fortune for me. I decided to to get my wife what had happened until I got home, but I had been sending her blow-by-blow accounts of everything until the point where I saw the results so I had to text her to say “let’s talk when I get talk”. Of course she knew straight away something had happened. It was a very long wait to get home, for both of us. Go here to the start of the journey. Go here for next blog entry.
Go here for previous blog entry

 
33
Kudos
 
33
Kudos

Now read this

Week 5 & 6: Looks like I picked the wrong week(s) to give up sniffing glue…

To those still following my blog - thank you. I started the blog 5 weeks behind reality and this post marks the point where I’ve caught up with myself. I am now finally writing in real time. Do me a favour - press the ‘kudos’ button on... Continue →