Changes….

Just over 5 weeks ago, in a instant, everything changed.
In hindsight of course there were subtle signs of what was coming - a slight word slipped whilst talking (out of character), moments of absence picked up by others and odd instants of unusual behaviors dismissed at tiredness or irritability. To all purposes though, at the moment the change arrived it did so unexpected and uninvited.
It had been a lovely weekend and it was a beautiful bank-holiday Sunday. I spent the whole day in the garden with the kids. I was satisfactorily worn out from digging and whilst my wife put the kids to bed I browsed Faceboook on my phone in the kitchen.
For an instant, I thought I must have been standing strangely as was getting pins and needles from bending over so I tried to roll my shoulders to make the feeling go away. When it didn’t stop and the whole of my right side had gone numb I started to panic and tried to call out to my wife and that’s when I found out I couldn’t talk either. It was a very unpleasant feeling, but it also felt familiar on some level as well.
My wife and the ambulance crew all thought I was having a stroke, but by the time they had arrived the sensation had gone and I was feeling pretty much normal again, although a bit shaken. They decided to take me into hospital to do some more tests. Go here to the start of the journey. Go here for next blog entry. Go here for previous blog entry

 
36
Kudos
 
36
Kudos

Now read this

Life viewed through a window made of codeine….

Just after Mr. P had checked on me and phoned my wife (I could hear him talking to her on the phone), one of the nurses looking after me in the recovery room came to see me. I was thinking about my wife and the fact that she’d be on her... Continue →